June Check-In

Happy Magical Girl Monday!

I believe my last post was in April. What have I been working on since then?

I’ve been working on the light novel, and I’m getting really close to my word count goals for each chapter! As I’m typing this, I’m updating the word counts in Trello again.

I’ve discovered that Scrivener actually has an estimated reading time when you click on the word count–the average time for each chapter is about 30 minutes. I’m thinking of doing a live reading, either by myself or with friends, on the PROXYFLANS Discord. Of course, it wouldn’t be a straight read–this is still a draft so there would be pauses when something doesn’t sound right so I can make a note of possible changes. (By the way, I’ve converted the Discord into a community server!)

A major continuity error I came across was Takako describing her classroom as being on the top floor, and then in a later chapter she was going up stairs to another floor–but not the roof! I fixed this by drawing out a map of the school on grid paper, and then scanning it and importing the pictures to Campfire Pro to play around with what rooms go where. With an official map to use as my guide, I feel that my descriptions of Fujioka High School will make more sense, and I also have a better reference when doing pixel art!

Speaking of pixel art, I’ve gotten back into it! The other day, I completed Tsubasa’s hair and eyes for her RPG sprite, and started on Hotaru’s. Hotaru’s hair and eyes are almost complete!

I’ve also decided that instead of creating new art from scratch for Flan Clicker, I will utilize the RPG sprites, possibly scaling them up to add different expressions. This will make the sprites easier to line up for the dress up game, since they all use the same base, so for example: I won’t have to draw the same type of socks in two poses for different characters, instead using the same base and maybe I’d just tweak the colors.

Another art-related tidbit, I’ve signed up to participate in Art Fight! It’s been a while since I’ve drawn characters that aren’t related to PROXYFLANS, so I feel that this will help the creative juices flow. (Really, it’s been too long!) I think I’m just going to upload three characters of mine from PROXYFLANS–Cute, Pretty, and Beautiful–because they’re a complete set. If I were to choose anyone from the main cast, I’d be too tempted to prepare references for everyone. And while I do have full body sketches for the character sheets done, I don’t have the time to scan and color them all.

Thank you for following the stories’/games’ development! If you like what you see, reblog, comment, and share with your friends and anyone else who you think needs some magical girl positivity in their lives!

You can find all links on the PROXYFLANS Linktree! (Until all the download keys are taken, I won’t make The Magical Girl in PROXY a public download.)

Thank you all, and I hope you have a flantastic day! 🍮

🍮 PROXYFLANS 🍮

Leave a comment